Jacob’s Ladder – Parshas Vayeitzay – a bridge from earth to heaven

In this week’s upcoming Parshas Vayaytzah, we are taught of the dream of Yaakov, the dream of a ladder that had its feet on the ground and its head reached into heavens.  There are many different messages being told by this ladder.

One of them is that our job is to bridge between physical and spiritual (the ladder had its feet on the ground and stretched to heaven because of that).   In fact, the word Soolam/ladder and Mamon/money have the same Gematriah [numerical value in Hebrew] – our job is to use money and physical gifts as a ladder to higher places, to connecting to Hashem.  If we do that right, angels go up and down, we affect what the angels do.  You see, based on reward and punishment in the world,  the blessings or curses come to the world.  And since the angels are those who carry out the meting out of blessings or curses, our actions are the “ladder” that causes them to come down or go away from our world.

In my life’s journeys I’ve met many kinds of people.  So there are those who keep their ladder laying flat on the ground, both feet and head right in the mud.  They never strive for spirituality, never get away from their earthy desires to do something bigger than self-gratification and never opening their view to see the spiritual.  Not good.  That was not the dream of Yaakov, not the mission of man, to stay with our heads stuck in mud.

However, I also met what I call the helium balloon people, those people who get so enamored in spirituality that they don’t keep themselves grounded.  They don’t engage in being responsible.  And that is a danger, for helium balloons wafting into stratosphere pop.  That also was not the dream of Yaakov, not the mission of man, to completely disconnect from what we have to do down here on earth.  We have to pay our rents, pull our own weights, clothe our kids, be able to engage in life responsibly.

Grounded, two feet on the ground, but aiming with that grounding to be able to bridge the vast distance to Heavens.  That is the dream, that is the goal.

About jewishspectacles

Jewish Spectacles-the kind you look through, not the kind you create!
This entry was posted in Jewish Thought, Jewish Weekly Torah Reading, Parsha, Unique Role in Serving G-d and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jacob’s Ladder – Parshas Vayeitzay – a bridge from earth to heaven

  1. jasonswartz says:

    I initially thought that the Creator did good things to me when he was pleased with me, and then he would change his mind and sometimes punishing me for wrong doings. However my perspective have changed a bit. I now feel that the Creator is a constant unchanging Force of Pure Bestowal. It is actually changes within my own vessel that gives the impression to me that the Creator is doing things to me. In fact the Light of the Creator is always surrounding me and available, however sometimes I am in such disparity (egoism) to HIS quailities(ALTRUISM) that the Light cannot enter me and I remain in darkness.. Thus I percieve the disparity as darkness and painful events….suffering. However when my intentions are towards bestowal to the Creator and I become somewhat more similar in my intentions, then the Light can enter my vessel and I percieve that there is a giver of this pleasure which I call Creator.

    In reallity the path of suffering or the path of Torah is all the Creator pushing us towards our own correction and His desire to reveal to his creation His Love and Godliness. So wether it is sensed as blessings or curses they all come from a benevolent Creator. Thanks for letting me share my experience
    L’CHaiM

    • G-d is always benevolent. However, we do have a concept of reward and punishment, too. We are told that our initial reaction to hard times should be to try and reflect what we can correct, what could have caused a punishment. If we come up with nothing, then we can go to the next assumption, which is that we need this suffering as a test, as a strength-building exercise or because G-d loves us and wants to use us to show fortitude and courage (as He did with Avraham in his ten tests).
      here’s a link to an older article on suffering: http://www.aish.com/ci/s/48956526.html

  2. jasonswartz says:

    How else can we show unconditional love towards the Creator if He only sends pleasant events? We have an oppurtunity during our trials to show faith and love to the Creator even if he takes away what is dear to us. We have a chance to experience and develop that perfect love towards the Creator that is beyond the conditions that are sent to us.

    Thanks for the limk, I will go read it =)

Leave a Reply

