Song of Songs – Don’t see my flaws

Yup, there are many ways to catch our peers doing the wrong thing.  Gotcha!  Here goes a blog to skew you!  Isn’t that the name of the game? 

 But how much of what we do wrong is ingrained in us, is evil from the core?  And how much of it is just end-results because we’ve been so exposed to wrong lifestyles and off-color morals?

 In Song of Songs, our nation laments about this (1:6) ““Al Tiroonee She’ani Shcharchores Sheshazafasnee Hashumesh” “Don’t see that I am black, for the sun has beat upon me.”  My natural complexion is peaches and cream.  This grime, you see upon me, that’s stuff that can be someday washed and bleached away.  Just a memento of my stay, among a people who held sway over my soul…

   You saw me in a way, in a rather bad display

I looked ugly in your eyes, my sins exposed

But sister recognize my soul, see the purity below

Echoes of Har Sinai, when we stood side by side

With one heart and one mind

“Al Tiroonee She’ani Shcharchores

Sheshazafasnee Hashumesh”

Don’t look at me that way

I’ve been blackened by my stay

Among a people who held sway

Over my soul, oh yes, I’ve strayed

Won’t you look at what’s inside

Where my soul shyly hides

Waiting to become bold

to allow my Kedusha to unfold.

Don’t look at me that way.

See the beauty, the sanctity

And not the debauchery

I’ve indulged in.

See the real me in my chastity.

Embolden the good in me.

“Al Tiroonee She’ani Shcharchores

Sheshazafasnee Hashumesh”

About jewishspectacles

Jewish Spectacles-the kind you look through, not the kind you create!
This entry was posted in Jewish prayer, Jewish Thought and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Song of Songs – Don’t see my flaws

  1. joseph ngatia kahuthu says:

    Jewish people are chosen people.ELOHIM entrusted them with HIS commandments and tought them HIS ways. ELOHIM bless Israel and may peace come to Jerusalem.

Leave a Reply

